Kony 2012 Cover The Night

Unless you have been hiding under a rock for the past few weeks you would probably have heard about the KONY 2012 campaign.

For those who haven’t – Kony 2012 is a campaign created by Invisible Children, Inc. It was designed to bring worldwide awareness to the actions of the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) and in particular their leader Joseph Kony.

Kony is accused of ordering countless atroricities including, mass murder, mass abduction of children, forcing children to work as sex slaves and also forcing them to serve as LRA soldiers.

In 2005 Kony was indicted for both war crimes and crimes against humanity by the International Criminal Court in The Hague but, to date he is still at large, continuing to terrorise people in countries such as Uganda, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of Congo and South Sudan.

To date the KONY 2012 film has been viewed over 88 million times. If you haven’t seen it you can watch it here: KONY 2012

Last night, right around the world it was the pinnacle of the KONY 2012 campaign labeled “Cover The Night”. It has been described by many Australian media outlets as a flop but, was it really?

I have been out and about in my local area today and virtually everywhere I have been I have spotted KONY 2012 posters. I should state that I don’t live at all close to the city where I believe the media has been focusing it’s attention. Perhaps activists have simply concentrated on targeting their local areas rather than congregating in one central location.

I think we’d all agree that there has been tremendous debate about this campaign – the good, the bad and the ugly. I don’t think that it’s for me to say that it is right or wrong so, I’m not going to enter into any kind of debate over it. Having said that, I would love to hear what you all think.

Did you support it?

Did you cover the night?

Did you think it was as big a flop as the media made out?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lauryn on April 22, 2012 at 12:12 am

    i covered the night!!! and so did many more Canberra people. The city was covered but our corner shops and smaller suburbs were.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mugalde on April 22, 2012 at 3:55 am

    I supported it. I cleaned up the beach in my Kony shirt and then put up posters in my town and surrounding towns.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Melbourne2012 on April 22, 2012 at 11:15 am

    TBH I’ve been out and about all of Saturday and have been in multiple suburbs and have not once seen any posters what so ever and didn’t expect to. 25 people rocked up in sydney out of over 18 thousand people and even less in Melbourne. Sorry but big fat flop.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

