In Praise Of: In Praise Of Slow

I’m in bed sick again today. I’ve had a few of them the past couple of weeks – nothing serious, thankfully!

This is me in bed "listening to my body".

That's Chickie checking the bed for lurgies!

While I was laying here I thought that this might be a great opportunity to share with you a book that changed my life and that was   probably the catalyst for me deciding to spend so much more time in my garden. It was a book that came to me quite by chance and one that I urge you to seek out and take the time to read: In Praise Of Slow by Carl Honoré.

Like many people, I suddenly became aware that I had lost a great chunk of my young years because I had allowed myself to get stuck on that great treadmill of life. It was not too long after I had this epiphany that I was wandering out of my local library and spotted this book on the $1 rack. I had a quick look at the blurb and got an overwhelming sense that the universe was sending me a message. With that, I walked straight back into the library and bought the book.

So, there I was reading this book thinking “yes, yes Carl, yes!”. Fact: Its all common sense stuff. However, we rarely (if ever) take the time to think about the repercussions of our actions because we’re all so busy trying to rush on to the next thing.

Well, I have been taking it slow (or slow-er than I was going before) but, it hasn’t been easy. What I have found is that it’s quite often the people around you that, inadvertently, keep pushing you back towards the treadmill. I have tried to encourage the people around me to step back a bit and think about how a bit of slowness could enrich their lives. Sadly though, they’re more often than not too busy to stop and think about my advice, let alone let me finish my sentence. LOL!

I have learnt a lot from my own reflections and the observations I have made of the people around me. The key things are:

The majority of us have a tendency to overburden ourselves.

We can’t do all of the things all of the time.

We can, unconsciously, influence people to live at a faster pace than they may be comfortable with.

We can, unconsciously, take up too much of other peoples time.

We can slow down and still do the things we want to do.       How?     Consciousness, Patience & Control.

I have a girlfriend that I admire so very much. She does what suits her and she doesn’t rush about for the sake of people around her. She is a tranquil woman and it reflects in everything she does. I always find it funny when I hear people criticising her for not doing things the way they would. The fact is that she is happy and she gets everything done. Interestingly, I have never heard her say “I wish I had time to…[insert activity here]”. Something I find her critics saying quite often.

So, I thought I’d add the link here to Carl’s Ted talk about the concept of “slowness”. I hope that you have a chance to sit down and listen to what he has to say. It may change your life too!

Ted Talks: Carl Honoré Praises Slowness

7 responses to this post.

  1. I find myself rushing about at times, but sometimes you have no choice. Our lives have a taken a turn in a direction that wasn’t of our choosing and now we have one daughter who needs to be taken to so many places if she is to continue with life normally, and another daughter who is struggling with what the family is going though. I would love to do things at my pace, but sometimes that pace is so slow that nothing get done, haha. It is good that you are managing to do it.
    I hope you get better soon.

    Reply

    • Hi Leanne, yeah there are often so many tricky complications thrown into the mix. What is easy for one may seem like Everest to another. We can only do our best with the tools we are given, hey? You sound to me like a strong woman, one who will navigate your family well through that field of challenges. I hope that life treats you well. xx

      Reply

  2. I have found myself thinking about pace a bit lately. Its usually as my 2 year old dawdles along while I constantly tell him to hurry up. But for whose benefit – almost certainly mine, rather than his, athough occasionally for his sister if we are running late for school. I am trying very hard to be patient, to not push him to do things at my pace but it is requiring quite a lot of self restraint.

    Reply

    • Hi Liz, how are you going? Hey, don’t beat yourself up, it’s never easy finding a balance for yourself let alone for the whole family too! You are conscious about pace and that’s the most important thing. Some people just aren’t! You’ll find that balance at some point, you’re on the right track. Cheerio, Jo

      Reply

  3. I nominated you for an award on my blog, I hope this is ok.

    Reply

  4. I found your blog through blotanical. Nice blog. Hope you are feeling better and I agree with you – we all are so much burdened with our egos and ambitions and in the race to get to the top that we are forgetting about ourselves, about people around us, about our lives, about the nature around us – we are constantly rushing.

    By the way, that TED link is not working. I will try to search it online and listen.

    Reply

    • Hi KL,

      I’m feeling great now, thank you. I put this up in the hope that it might make people more conscious. I think we all need a wake-up call at some point =) Thanks for letting me know about the link not working. I have re-linked it and it seems to be working now.

      Take care,

      Jodi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

