Mango!

Now, I don’t want to get you all excited because it may turn out to be a fizzer but… I have some mangoes on the tree!

Kensington Pride Mango

I won’t hold my breath because they could quite easily fall off  at this stage but we will see. Just to be on the safe side, I am removing the little one so that the tree can direct all of it’s energy into the other two fruits.

There were seven in total but I had a little accident the other day that caused the demise of the branch holding the others. It was probably for the best anyway.

Just in case you are wondering it is a Kensington Pride and I have had it for about 2 years. It’s currently in a pot but when the time is right I will be moving Mr. Kensington out to the orchard.

Ciao xx

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle on January 19, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    That is very exciting!! Good luck with them 🙂

    Reply

  2. Hi Jodi! Happy New Year! So exciting and I wish you success with your mango tree. I am keen to grow one too, as I am a mango fan. Well who isnt! I look forward to getting some tips from you soon.

    Best regards,
    Mary Jordon
    (@still writing that book!)

    Reply

    • Hi Mary,

      Happy New Year to you too! Ah… mangoes. They really are the jewels of the garden.

      Do let me know if there is something specific that you would like to know about the garden.

      Take care,

      Jodi

      Reply

  3. Wonderful! I have my fingers crossed for you that they hold on.

    Reply

  4. Sorry to hear that they dropped 😦 Still, a pretty promising start, having the fruit set at all.

    Our friend’s just had two mango seeds germinate in her compost; she’s given me one and I’ve potted it up (all 20cm of it) hoping that we can keep it alive. Got any tips for mango-growing in Melbourne? I’m guessing they like warmth, no frost, and semi-shade in the Summer, but I have no experience of ’em at all.

    Reply

    • Hi Alexis,

      I think that the key to success is threefold:

      1) You’ve got to have a cold tolerant variety.
      2) Keep the potting mix moist at all times and
      3) Keep the young plant away from frost.

      How did I do this? Well, for a start my tree was about a 3/4m tall when it came to me so I haven’t had to baby it for too long (2yrs). And Then to ensure that it stayed moist I placed it into a large Greensmart pot by my back door (on the north side of the house) hard up against the bricks. The deck there does get a little frosty to about half way across but not up against the bricks. Now, it is still in the pot but, I am thinking about moving it out to the yard next year. Either that or I will move it into a half wine barrel that I will convert to behave the same as a Greensmart pot. That way I can be sure that the soil remains moist and that it’s not drowning in water at the same time.

      You know, the amazing thing with those tiny fruit that did form is that, when split, they already smelled like a ripe mango.

      I hope that helps. Now, you might not have a “cold tolerant” variety from the compost but, you never know your luck in a big city! I hope that it does really well.

      Jodi

      Reply

      • Hey, thanks. That’s a really useful reply. You’re very generous with your expertise! I’m guessing the seed is from whatever’s grown commercially in Queensland. I have a couple of tropical/subtropical experiments going on in the garden at the moment, and that there north-facing wall is getting a good workout. I’ll be interested to see how this little seedling goes. Meanwhile, hoping to read in a year’s time that your mango grows some grown-up fruit. Wouldn’t that be excellent!

      • Hi Alexis,

        That’s no problem at all. In Permaculture terms this is my return of surplus. That was what motivated me to start writing a blog in the first place.

        Please do report in from time to time about your mango seedling. We’ll be keen to hear how you get on with it.

        Take care,

        Jodi

Leave a Reply

