Kale – The Vegetable of Champions

If you could grow just one vegetable I’d highly recommend Kale. Its one of my favourites, partly because it is so versatile but, also because it is so good for you.

I’ve been growing Kale for years and I have tried almost all of them. There are lots of varieties you can grow – Cavolo Nero also known as Tuscan Black, Red Russian, White Russian, Dwarf Blue, Red Bor, Hanover Salad, Red Ursa, and Curled Scotch just to name a few. My personal favourite is Thousand head. It is huge – see!

BIG leaf!

I brought some in last night for our dinner and two leaves were more than enough. Chickie got some too!

"You should have seen the toast, I couldn't get it through the door"

My girls also love it. I plant it around so that there is always some on hand for them. You always know when they’ve been getting stuck into the Kale because their yolks become really rich and dark.

Thousand Head Kale – Go on, try it.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve got Kale growing in my garden, because it sounds good, but we have no idea what to do with it. How do you cook it?

    Reply

    • Hi Leanne, lovely to hear from you. My goodness you can do so much. You can use it raw in salads, saute with onion garlic and herbs and serve it with eggs – scrambled, fried or baked. I like to pop all of that into a pie base with fetta or goats cheese and a bit of cooked, sliced potato or you could try kale bake. I have a super-duper Kale Bake, which I will post here some time in the next few weeks.

      Let me know how you go.

      Take care.

      Reply

  2. LOVE using Kale for salad – very very tasty! We’ve been sampling the home-grown leafy veggies at farmer’s market the last few weeks, and this was one of our favorites as well. Glad you mentioned it – I’ll have to grab more tomorrow!

    Reply

  3. Posted by the green backyard on October 24, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    I love Kale too, in my smoothies! Do you gow it from seed? If yes, where do you get the seed from if you don’t mind sharing??
    I have just found your blog, it’s wonderful.

    Reply

    • Hi there,

      Yes I do grow it from seed. Sometimes I start them off in punnets but, mostly I lust sow direct into the vegie patch. I get my seed from a number of places: The Lost Seed, Cornucopia Seeds, Southern Harvest are the main ones. They are all great suppliers with fast reliable service. And… unlike some of the larger mail order seed companies, they are not stingy with the amount they supply you!

      I’d highly recommend that you have a go at sowing Kale seeds. Brassicas are among the easiest plants to strike from seed.

      Good luck and thanks for stopping by.

      Jodi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

