Buddleja salviifolia

Mmm... smells amazing!

Its the first day of spring today so, I thought that I would share with you the most delicious smelling flower in the garden right now. Actually, this is not from my garden as my last lot of cuttings didn’t strike but, I got this piece from my lovely friend Pete’s orchard. It is Buddleja salviifoia, which is a large shrub that is native to South Africa. There are many different species of Buddleja some deciduous and others evergreen. They all have long spear shaped flower head, with flowers ranging in colour from white – pink – purple – orange – yellow, some more compact than others. They certainly are great bee fodder plants.

This particular plant (B. salviifolia) is a large evergreen species, growing to 4m in ideal conditions. They like a well-drained soil that is rich in organic matter and grow best in a sunny-partly shaded position.

As far as I know not all Buddlejas have fragrant flowers so it always best to ask your nursery person or take cuttings from a plant that you know is a good specimen.

If you do wish to propagate your own its really not hard (O.o she says). It is best to wait until summer when the cuttings will be semi-hard. Propagation is much the same as with salvias. I’ll see if I can make a little step by step photo collage for you.

I am particularly keen on Buddleja crispa, which is a lovely small shrub to 50cm. It has brilliant silver foliage and pink flowers. I haven’t been able to get my hands on one so, if there is anyone out there with one, who wouldn’t mind sharing a cutting or two, I would be most happy to arrange a nice trade.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nicole on September 3, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    What a beautiful plant. If only we had smellovision.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mike on August 6, 2012 at 11:13 am

    Hello there. I saw Buddleja crispa in the Davidsonia rare plant nursery at Mount Macedon yesterday. (Didn’t buy it, because I thought I should look into its dryness-sunshine tolerance before committing it to the garden (and thus googled my way to your blog!))

    Reply

    • Mike, thank you so much! You wouldn’t believe it… when I was out pruning my lupins varicolor today that word “Davidsonia” popped into my head. It must be a sign! Looks like I’m off to Macedon.
      – what a champ!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

