Look up Melbourne – Webs In The Wind Again!

It’s yet another fabulous day out there today. I’ve been wandering around the garden today thinking gee there is a lot of webs. I didn’t think much of it until I went to sneeze! There they are again!

Outstanding!

Here are some pics for those who may have missed them last time and the update from the other day at the bottom.

I’ve got to get back out there.

Update 11 June: I have been looking around for a species to attach to this story. My mum came over today and handed me an article from the Leader Newspaper attached here: A Web Of Intrigue. It turns out that they were the webs of the Golden Orb-weaving Spider Nephila edulis, which is native to Australia and commonly found in the Melbourne area. The females are the ones that we most often notice. They are the larger ones, usually measuring 23mm in length, while the males are tiny measuring in at a mere 6mm – not that size is matters! These spiders can live up to 18months. Interestingly, the female who has been living in our front yard for about 6 months disappeared on the second day that the webs were in flight. We hope to see her again soon.

Here is the only photo I have of the Golden Orb.

4 responses to this post.

  1. i experienced the same phenomena this morning, however it wasn’t so sunny, the dew shows up the webs really nice.

    Reply

  2. Golden Orb Weavers give me the major heeby jeebies. In the summer of 2007/08 Sydney had a complete plague of them. You couldn’t walk anywhere in the dark because you were almost guaranteed to land one in the face. Our daughter was born in November 07, and we had to check all the nappies coming in the from the clothes line because the spiders spun webs between them. I know they won’t kill anyone, but eek!

    Reply

    • I hear you there. I there is nothing worse than feeling the gentle tug of webs over your face, urgh, especially in the dark. I don’t know what it is that sets these apart from other types but, I’m just not that disturbed by Golded Orb-weavers. I certainly don’t want them on me though!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

