Webs In The Wind

What a fabulous day it was out there today. I was out weeding the driveway – yes weeding! It was so cathartic and it looks beautiful. I saw the most amazing thing while I was out there: The sky was filled, and I am absolutely not exaggerating, with webs. I took some photos but naturally webs in the sky aren’t the easiest things to photograph. Anyway, I called my mum who was two towns away in the direction they were coming from and they were flying overhead there too. Webs in the wind – it’s just how some insects get from place to place.

Update 11 June: I have been looking around for a species to attach to this story. My mum came over today and handed me an article from the Leader Newspaper attached here: A Web Of Intrigue. It turns out that they were the webs of the Golden Orb-weaving Spider Nephila edulis, which is native to Australia and commonly found in the Melbourne area. The females are the ones that we most often notice. They are the larger ones, usually measuring 23mm in length, while the males are tiny measuring in at a mere 6mm – not that size is matters! These spiders can live up to 18months. Interestingly, the female who has been living in our front yard for about 6 months disappeared on the second day that the webs were in flight. We hope to see her again soon.

Here is the only photo I have of the Golden Orb.

 

 

 

8 responses to this post.

  1. Wow – how beautiful!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kylie on June 1, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Wow they look almost like fairy floss…What a glorious two days it has been…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ann Jessop on June 2, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Lovely photos! I have noticed HEAPS of spider webs in the last week or so on every conceivable surface – does anyone know why there are so many at the moment?

    Reply

    • Hi Ann,
      I just wanted to check my facts before I responded to your question. The answer: well, it’s right time of year for these spiders to take flight because the weather is right. I’m not exactly sure where they were coming from, my guess was perhaps Galada Tambour grasslands area. They were spotted up to 20km away. So very amazing.

      Reply

    • Hi Ann, I have update this post as I have discovered the species – Golden Orb-weaver. There was a write up in the leader.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

