Root Crop – Fukuoka Style

As you can see in the picture below, the seeds in my root crop bed are sprouting all over the place. It may seem as if things are growing a bit close together but I’m not too concerned. Some plants will grow faster than others, freeing up space as they are harvested. The carrot tops and herbs will be picked often to feed Chicky-Boombah and we will enjoy some vegetables while they are nice and small. I may have to do some thinning out but for the most part I think we will use most of the things that have sprouted. I’ll keep you posted on its progress.

Seeds are sprouting everywhere.

As you can see by my trays below I have new seedlings on the go too. It’s important to keep sowing throughout the year to have a constant supply of food in the garden. It’s a good practice to sow something new every 3-4 weeks.

Seedlings sown in the 4th week of Autumn.

I find that brassicas (broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, kale, bok choi etc) grow quite happily when sown direct into the soil. The ones that you can see in my trays below (kale, cauliflower and broccoli) I wanted to grow on a bit before planting them in random places around the garden. They need to be obvious so that they aren’t mistaken for weeds and ripped out. Also, I always sow trays for other gardeners in my family. Aren’t they lucky?

Leave a Reply

