Summer

Today is the first day of summer and I can hardly believe it. The past few months have slipped past almost unnoticed. Almost. I was seriously itching to get cracking on my ‘every day in the garden’ project but, as it goes in life, the weather turns, projects don’t come to an end when they should, one thing leads to another and three months later here we are. So, on account of the fact that I’d originally intended to kick off on the first day of spring, I figured that the first day of summer wouldn’t be a bad substitute.

The Lemon Balm and Salvias, which were cut to the ground during winter are growing beautifully now and I am just about to give them a bit of a hair cut. My Tree Dahlia cuttings, which I “plonked” into the ground a few months ago are just shooting. Our Boysenberries have put on phenomenal growth. About 20m of the fence are covered with them. We expect that they will be the star performers of our garden this year.

Tree Dahlia Shoot - Its teeny tiny now but very soon it will be taller than me.

Our mulberries, white shatoot and dwarf red shatoot, are in their third year and are heavily laden with fruit. The white mulberries were crown lifted during the winter as they are predominantly in place to protect the house from the hot western sun. I lifted their crowns (cut off the lower branches) so that we will be able to see through them when looking out the front windows.  Also, we’d like to be able to walk under them when they are mature. So, they aren’t looking nearly as full as they were but, they will bounce back soon enough. The ants have been feasting on the ripening fruit (they are very tasty) so, I have had to create a barrier with a line of petroleum jelly around the trunk. The ants won’t cross this line. I am concerned that once the sun heats up the petroleum jelly will melt so I will be looking at an organic product that will be longer lived. I’ll let you know how I get on.

In the vegie patch our late crop of broad beans are doing well. We have plenty of Kale, Broccoli, Cauliflower, and Cabbage. The Silverbeet that has been in since last spring has just gone to seed. We have harvested copious amounts of leaves of this last plant, which has kept us in greens steadily throughout the year. We have recently planted a dozen more out the front. I’m allowing this one to remain in place until I can harvest its seeds.

The tomatoes are beginning to flower and set fruit. I have just planted cucumber and zucchini, which I grew in peat pots for a few weeks before planting. They are looking very good at this stage. The potato beds are booming. We have two designated beds, which have two varieties in each. I will go into more detail about these later.

Other herbs and vegetables we have in at the moment are: Parsnip, Eggplant, Basil, Shallots, Garlic, Leek, Lettuce, Beetroot, Parsley, Thyme, Oregano and Coriander.

Although it may sound like a lot, by our standards its not. We still have so much that needs to go in. However, I’ll just chip away at it over the next few weeks.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Thumper on December 1, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Sounds fantastic Jod’s although I’m sure Mick & Cranoss will be distraught over the blatant missuse of the petroleum jelly. We had a couple of weeks in surfers in Oct and after the torrential rain and miny floods had subsided we had a great holiday. Xmas is hunting us down and santa has been inundated with changes to the “wish list” occuring on a daily basis. Lve to all Thumper…

    Reply

  2. Great post JJ. I LOVE!! the pic. Naomi xx

    Reply

  3. Can’t wait to see how it all evolves Jodi! Sounds like it’s going to a busy (and tasty) year ahead. You’ve inspired me to get back outside in my own suburban block. I’m way behind on the Summer planting – but can definitely do with some therapeutic getting-back-to-the-earth! Hope we can trade yummy, fresh produce soon… GOODLUCK!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Hope on December 8, 2010 at 11:19 am

    Great blog Jodi
    very inspiring 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

